8552 photos
Visited 10040 times
Member since 14-Dec-06

About
Since 2002, I have been involved in a project documenting lifestyle and changes in small villages in Luang Namtha province, in Northern Laos (Lao People's Democratic Republic.

Initially I have been reluctant to put these photos on the net, but growing pressure from many people who have seen my work has finally convinced me to make some available.

This page is in the process of being developed, so in the next month or so it may not show very much. I have made about 100000 exposures over the past 7 years, and hope to share a few of these on this site.

Many of these photos contain people. I do not take anyone's photograph if the indicate they do not want this to happen. Almost every person I have photographed for this project has received back a copy of their photo, usuallly laminated, often 6x8". Many villagers have few or no pictures of themselves, and are extremely happy to receive one. I strongly encourage anyone who comes to remote places like this and likes to take photos of people to do the same.


For more information about Luang Namtha, see http:/​/​www.​luangnamtha.​com/​

How it all started

I wrote a 1500 word introduction to explain how the project started, and what my purpose was. then i found that for all its wonderful aspects, Zenfolio cannot take more then about 300 words per comment.
So I posted it on ThingsAsian:

http://www.thingsasian.com/stories-photos/21321

I receievd a lot of questions about how I get my photographs, so wrote another article:

http://www.thingsasian.com/stories-photos/21500

Another relevant site : http:/​/​www.​bryanwatt.​com

The cookbook is out: http:/​/​www.​foodfromnorthernlaos.​com
 
Contact Info



Featured Galleries & Collections

Akha Villages in Luang Namtha Laos

Visitors 2540
87 photos
Akha Villages in Luang Namtha Laos

My Favouritephotos from Luang Namtha - Laos

Visitors 2776
24 photos
My Favouritephotos from Luang Namtha - Laos

Lantien ceremonies in Luang Namtha - Laos

Visitors 744
51 photos
Lantien ceremonies in Luang Namtha - Laos

Portraits from ethnic villages in Laos

Visitors 855
57 photos
Portraits from ethnic villages in Laos

People at work in Luang Namtha - Laos

Visitors 791
59 photos
People at work in Luang Namtha - Laos

Development cooperation in Luang Namtha - Laos

Visitors 767
72 photos
Development cooperation in Luang Namtha - Laos

Akha Experience -Muang Sing - Laos

Visitors 455
62 photos
Akha Experience -Muang Sing - Laos


Recently Added

Colourprintscans D&K1985-2003

231 photos
Colourprintscans D&K1985-2003

ForNit

27 photos
ForNit

Georgia Visit 2016

240 photos
Georgia Visit 2016

4SNV

73 photos
4SNV

Saffron Birthday

68 photos
Saffron Birthday

AnitaReneeJames

28 photos
AnitaReneeJames

Nam Ngern Night Safari Laos

Visitors 27
194 photos
Nam Ngern Night Safari Laos

Bang Saray Moo 4 Saturday street festival

Visitors 63
49 photos
Bang Saray Moo 4 Saturday street festival


All Photographs

Luang Namtha - Laos

Galleries 6
1005 photos

My Favouritephotos from Luang Namtha - Laos

Visitors 2776
24 photos
My Favouritephotos from Luang Namtha - Laos

Non Luang Namtha photos

Visitors 195
8 photos
Non Luang Namtha photos

Lantien ceremonies in Luang Namtha - Laos

Visitors 744
51 photos
Lantien ceremonies in Luang Namtha - Laos

Laos - Cotton dyeing Ban Namat Mai

Visitors 304
27 photos
Laos - Cotton dyeing Ban Namat Mai

Akha Villages in Luang Namtha Laos

Visitors 2540
87 photos
Akha Villages in Luang Namtha Laos

Portraits from ethnic villages in Laos

Visitors 855
57 photos
Portraits from ethnic villages in Laos

People at work in Luang Namtha - Laos

Visitors 791
59 photos
People at work in Luang Namtha - Laos

Development cooperation in Luang Namtha - Laos

Visitors 767
72 photos
Development cooperation in Luang Namtha - Laos

Akha Experience -Muang Sing - Laos

Visitors 455
62 photos
Akha Experience -Muang Sing - Laos

Landscape in Laos

Visitors 140
4 photos
Landscape in Laos

Hmong

Visitors 1813
79 photos
Hmong

Tai Dam festival 2008

Visitors 317
26 photos
Tai Dam festival 2008

Ban Nam Lue - Lantien

Visitors 57
10 photos
Ban Nam Lue - Lantien

Laos- Lantien ordination ceremony

Visitors 118
100 photos
Laos- Lantien ordination ceremony

Dao Ordination in Yao village

Visitors 128
17 photos
Dao Ordination in Yao village

Yao Mun Ordination ceremony

Visitors 145
226 photos
Yao Mun Ordination ceremony

Lunar New Year in a Yao Mien village

Visitors 131
50 photos
Lunar New Year in a Yao Mien village

Lanten (Lantien, "Yao Mun") Wedding, Ban Nam Lue

Visitors 405
123 photos
Lanten (Lantien, "Yao Mun") Wedding, Ban Nam Lue

Isan Wedding

Visitors 154
20 photos
Isan Wedding

Robin & Miao's wedding

Visitors 52
394 photos
Robin & Miao's wedding

Zaydin's Birthday

Visitors 36
60 photos
Zaydin's Birthday

Jack's 90's Birthday

Visitors 59
63 photos
Jack's 90's Birthday

Wedding Peter & Som

Visitors 99
314 photos
Wedding Peter & Som

Ban Goop, Nale district

Visitors 58
95 photos
Ban Goop, Nale district

BanG for Ken

Visitors 3
31 photos
BanG for Ken

Khamsouk's Wedding

Visitors 45
56 photos
Khamsouk's Wedding

Alexselect

Visitors 117
317 photos
Alexselect

Wat Xiang Thong -Luang Prabang

Visitors 150
128 photos
Wat Xiang Thong -Luang Prabang

Wat Visoun -Luang Prabang

Visitors 86
51 photos
Wat Visoun -Luang Prabang

Jason's Birthday

Visitors 51
261 photos
Jason's Birthday

Elephant Sanctuary Cambodia

Visitors 180
96 photos
Elephant Sanctuary Cambodia

Vandara 4 Liz

Visitors 35
77 photos
Vandara 4 Liz

Cambodia

Galleries 3
110 photos

Family visit NZ Nov 2011

Visitors 41
35 photos
Family visit NZ Nov 2011

Wan&Britney

Visitors 3
13 photos
Wan&Britney

TaecbookSmall

Visitors 0
0 photos

TAEC Book Small

Visitors 313
49 photos
TAEC Book Small

For Rik

Visitors 65
131 photos
For Rik

OxfaNovib

Visitors 1
27 photos
OxfaNovib

Fur Hans

Visitors 15
15 photos
Fur Hans

VSA Vols day

Visitors 34
34 photos
VSA Vols day

Bali2013

Visitors 12
7 photos
Bali2013

Timor Leste

Galleries 1
622 photos

Silk Road By Dorothy Culloty

Visitors 111
366 photos
Silk Road By Dorothy Culloty

MercyCorps Stove

Visitors 37
73 photos
MercyCorps Stove

CondoFS

Visitors 1
20 photos
CondoFS

Klibur Domin

Visitors 13
58 photos
Klibur Domin

Andrea's project

Visitors 26
29 photos
Andrea's project

Traxx Waihi

Visitors 74
30 photos
Traxx Waihi

AtauroPortraitsJPG

Visitors 5
25 photos
AtauroPortraitsJPG

YaoCeremonies4Angkor

Visitors 49
28 photos
YaoCeremonies4Angkor

Klibur Domin, Timor Leste

Visitors 124
30 photos
Klibur Domin, Timor Leste

Huaphan 4 Paul

Visitors 1
79 photos
Huaphan 4 Paul

Ordination KTL

Visitors 28
29 photos
Ordination KTL

Dhammakaya Monks walking in Pattaya

Visitors 18
18 photos
Dhammakaya Monks walking in Pattaya

Zaydin 5th Birthday

Visitors 4
50 photos
Zaydin 5th Birthday

Mere & Pili

Visitors 3
12 photos
Mere & Pili

JuniThailand14

Visitors 5
119 photos
JuniThailand14

Asanha Bucha celebration in Bang Saray 2014

Visitors 27
76 photos
Asanha Bucha celebration in Bang Saray 2014

Nam'sTaxi

Visitors 10
90 photos
Nam'sTaxi

Saffron In Thailand 2015

Visitors 35
145 photos
Saffron In Thailand 2015

BackupSK1

476 photos
BackupSK1

BackupSK2

186 photos
BackupSK2

Condos4Saffron

29 photos
Condos4Saffron

NamTaxiSept15

Visitors 18
83 photos
NamTaxiSept15

4LindaCraft

71 photos
4LindaCraft

Visakha Bucha 2016 -Bang Saray

Visitors 9
25 photos
Visakha Bucha 2016 -Bang Saray

BSC4Sale

62 photos
BSC4Sale

Condos4Ian

125 photos
Condos4Ian

Bang Saray Moo 4 Saturday street festival

Visitors 63
49 photos
Bang Saray Moo 4 Saturday street festival

Nam Ngern Night Safari Laos

Visitors 27
194 photos
Nam Ngern Night Safari Laos

AnitaReneeJames

28 photos
AnitaReneeJames

Saffron Birthday

68 photos
Saffron Birthday

Georgia Visit 2016

240 photos
Georgia Visit 2016

ForNit

27 photos
ForNit

Colourprintscans D&K1985-2003

231 photos
Colourprintscans D&K1985-2003


Guestbook for Kees Sprengers - Ethnic Diversity in Luang Namtha - Laos
Packers and Movers Bangalore(non-registered)
Manish Packers and Movers Pvt Ltd @ http://www.manishpackers.in/
Packers and Movers Bangalore @ http://www.manishpackers.in/packers-and-movers-bangalore.html
Packers and Movers Indore @ http://www.manishpackers.in/packers-and-movers-indore.html
Packers and Movers Bhopal @ http://www.manishpackers.in/packers-and-movers-bhopal.html
Packers and Movers Gurgaon @ http://www.manishpackers.in/packers-and-movers-gurgaon.html
Packers and Movers Jodhpur @ http://www.manishpackers.in/packers-and-movers-jodhpur.html
Packers and Movers Udaipur @ http://www.manishpackers.in/packers-and-movers-udaipur.html
Packers and Movers Surat @ http://www.manishpackers.in/packers-and-movers-surat.html
Packers and Movers Mumbai @ http://www.manishpackers.in/packers-and-movers-mumbai.html
Packers and Movers Pune @ http://www.manishpackers.in/packers-and-movers-pune.html
Packers and Movers Hyderabad @ http://www.manishpackers.in/packers-and-movers-hyderabad.html
Packers and Movers Chandigarh @ http://www.manishpackers.in/packers-and-movers-chandigarh.html
Packers and Movers Jaipur @ http://www.manishpackers.in/packers-and-movers-jaipur.html
Packers and Movers Jabalpur @ http://www.manishpackers.in/packers-and-movers-jabalpur.html
Packers and Movers Raipur @ http://www.manishpackers.in/packers-and-movers-raipur.html
Packers and Movers Kolkata @ http://www.manishpackers.in/packers-and-movers-kolkata.html
Packers and Movers Delhi @ http://www.manishpackers.in/packers-and-movers-delhi.html
Packers and Movers Nagpur @ http://www.manishpackers.in/packers-and-movers-nagpur.html
Packers and Movers Chennai @ http://www.manishpackers.in/packers-and-movers-chennai.html
Packers and Movers Ahmedabad @ http://www.manishpackers.in/packers-and-movers-ahmedabad.html
http://www.manishpackersmoversindore.in/
http://www.manishpackersmoversindore.in/packers-movers-bangalore.html
http://www.manishpackersmoversindore.in/packers-movers-gurgaon.html
http://www.manishpackersmoversindore.in/packers-movers-mumbai.html
http://www.manishpackersmoversindore.in/packers-movers-kolkata.html
drama(non-registered)
but the game changes all the time and extra
tips are always appreciated.
Professional Logistics Pvt.Ltd. Delhi(non-registered)
http://www.professionallogistics.in/
http://www.professionallogistics.in/logistics-company-gurgaon.php
http://www.professionallogistics.in/logistics-company-noida.php
logistics services Company has specialized in handling and delivering cargo safely and timely. As one of the oldest freight forwarding companies in all over india.
Professional Logistics Pvt.Ltd. Noida(non-registered)
Professional Logistics is a professional and reputable moving company offering cost-effective services of Freight Forwarding in all over world. We are pioneers in the industry of Logistics, and have built a strong reputation of offering tailored services according to the expectations of our customer.Transporting goods by air while simultaneously complying to aviation and safety regulations is easier said than done, but we know what we're doing. We customise an airfreight solution for you and also walk you through customs regulations and international import/export restrictions. So regardless of how far-flung your destination is, we ensure things go smoothly with maximum flexibility and cargo control.
The guestbook is empty.
Loading...